

Meeting Minutes Dec 16, 2024 6:30 P.M. SUSTAINABILITY COMMISSION

Chinaka A. Barbour
Warren Beeton
Dr Joseph P Boutte
J. Randall Freed, Chair
Martin Jeter
Stephanie Johnson
Thomas Smith
Elizabeth H. Ward, Vice Chair

**UTILITIES REPRESENTATIVE** 

Christine Hoeffner Gilbert Jaramillo Perrin Palistrant Don Pannell Kyle Reglin

Cedar Run Conference Room McCoart Building 1 County Complex Court Prince William, VA 22192

<u>Present:</u> Commissioners Chinaka Barbour, Warren Beeton, Dr. Joseph Boutte, J. Randall Freed, Martin Jeter, Thomas Smith

Non-voting Commissioners: Christine Hoeffner, Scott McGeary, Don Pannell

**Others**: Giulia Manno – Senior Environmental Program Manager, Michelle Smyk – Climate and Energy Program Manager, Salita Gray – Administrative Specialist

Absent: Commissioners Stephanie Johnson, Elizabeth Ward

Non-voting Commissioners: Gil Jaramillo, Perin Palistrant, Kyle Reglin

**Roll Call:** Quorum Present

Citizen's Time: None

## **Old Business**

- Approve of remote participation for Scott McGeary and Christine Hoeffner (VOTING RECORD: Motion: J Boutte; Second W Beeton; Ayes: by acclamation; Nays: none)
- Approve November 18, 2024 meeting minutes (VOTING RECORD: Motion: W Beeton; Second J Boutte; Ayes: by acclamation; Nays: none)
- G Manno provided an update on the budget process for FY26. The budget request was
  presented to leadership for a Green Buildings Manager, Climate and Resilience Manager,

- Sustainability Communications and Outreach Manager and Green Fleet and Mobility Manager.
- Commissioner workgroups discussed recommendations for the Comp Plan Amendment and integrating CESMP actions related to buildings, energy, natural resources and adaptation, and transportation.

## **New Business**

- D Pannell presented the Prince William Water's Resilience Plan.
- M Smyk presented the JLARC Report Summary.
- 2025 Officer election was discussed, and a vote will be made next meeting.
- Commissioners agreed to continue the 2025 schedule to be the 4<sup>th</sup> Thursday of the month. Proposed meetings during the holidays are November 17<sup>th</sup> and December 15<sup>th</sup>. Commissioners will discuss further next meeting.

## **Commissioner's Time:**

- C Barbour updated on the JET meeting. Kenny Boddye was voted Chair and Lisa Zargarpur voted as Vice Chair. Provided an update on composting, IRA tax credits and schools are doing an environmental showcase.
- W Beeton requested the slides for the Summary of the December 2024 JLARC Report.
- Dr. J Boutte thanked R Freed for his service as the Chair.
- M Jeter thanked R Freed for his service as Chair and welcomed T Smith as the new commissioner.
- D Pannell shared that Prince William Water classifies data centers under industrial user class.
- R Freed shared that now is a good time to engage with state legislators on greenhouse gas mitigation policies and to speak to Supervisors on the importance of Data Centers meeting climate goals. Commission officer elections will be held in January 2025.

## The Meeting Adjourned at 9:20 PM