**BUSINESS LICENSE APPLICATION** 

To manage your taxes and pay on-line go to tax.pwcgov.org.

2025

RENEWAL APPLICATION AND PAYMENT IN FULL IS DUE ON OR BEFORE MARCH 3, 2025. NEW BUSINESSES BEGINNING ON OR AFTER JANUARY 1, 2025, HAVE 30 DAYS TO MAKE APPLICATION AND REMIT PAYMENT.

Company/Owner Name  Business Trade Name		ADDITIONAL INFORMATION REQUIRED FOR CONSTRUCTION, REMOVAL, REPAIR, OR IMPROVEMENT CONTRACTORS	
IRS Letter: Proof of Registered Federal ID / SSN:			
Sole Proprietor – Business Owner is Legally Present in the United States			
☐ Parl	tnership – All Partners are Legally Present in the United States	Virginia Contractors License No.	-
The applicant, in submitting this business license application on behalf of a sole		☐ Class 'A' ☐ Class 'B' ☐ Class 'C'	
proprietor or partnership as business owner, hereby certifies that the sole proprietor or each and every partner is lawfully authorized to be present and to work in the United States pursuant to all applicable federal laws and regulations for the full duration of the license period covered by this application. For General or Limited Partnerships, you must provide proof that your business entity is registered with the Virginia State Corporation Commission.  □Corporation □ LLC or PLLC		All Contractors must complete a Contractor's Certificate of Workers' Compensation Insurance (61A form). Code of Virginia 58.1-3714 prohibits a county from issuing or reissuing a business license to a contractor who has not obtained or is not maintaining workers' compensation coverage for his employees if such coverage is required.	
□Home Based		Complete the following only if applicant is a Virginia-based Contractor with a principal office located in a jurisdiction other than Prince William County:	ì
Provide b	usiness entity registration with Virginia State Corporation Commission.	principal cines issued in a junealistici statist times trimain seatily.	
	ntact Name		
	Address	Name of Virginia jurisdiction where principal office is located	
	Address	Does locality impose a local business license tax?	
		If yes, please provide a copy of the Home Jurisdiction current	
	Number	year Business License or completed renewal form.	
	usiness Began in Prince William County	OFFICE USE	
	s Locationenergy for the second	OTTICE USE	
Occupation	on Certificate, or Home Employment Certificate	Acct. No.	
Detailed Description of Business		Code	
NAICS Code Number of Employees		Date Filed	
	CALCULATE LICEN	SE TAX DUE	
	Gross receipts means whole, entire, total gross receipts, wi	·	
1.	Enter tax rate for business classification from reverse side Table C, Par	tA	
2.	Enter total 2024 business gross receipts, or if a new business (business 2025), an estimate of your 2025 gross receipts. Wholesale merchants rethan gross receipts	eport total gross purchases rather	
3.	Enter allowable adjustments from reverse side Table A, Line 4		
4.	4. Subtract Line 3 from Line 2. This is your taxable gross receipts		
5.	Enter \$0 if the amount on Line 4 above is less than \$500,000  - otherwise -  Divide Line 4 by \$100, and then multiply by the tax rate entered on Line	1	
6			-
6.	If business began after 1/1/2024 but before 1/1/2025, complete reverse adjustment amount to the 2024 license tax for new businesses from rev	erse side Table B, Line 5	_
7.	Enter flat rate license tax from reverse side Table C, Part B. NOTE: Resi include the appropriate Flat Rate License Tax in addition to the license		
8.	Add the amounts on Line 5, Line 6 and Line 7 above. This is your 2025	license tax due Tax	
	Make check payable to: PRINCE WILLIAM COUNTY, PO BOX 2467, W Add a 10% late payment penalty and daily interest calculated at a rate of 10% per annum existing businesses or MORE THAN 30 DAYS PAST THE START DATE for new businesses.	if paying after MARCH 3, 2025, for Interest	

It is a misdemeanor for any person to willfully subscribe an application that he does not believe to be true and correct as to every material matter. Businesses are subject to audit by Prince William County pursuant to Virginia Code 58.1-3109. I declare that the statements and figures herein given are true, full and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief.

## TABLE A – ALLOWABLE ADJUSTMENTS

## To Be Completed Only By Gasoline/Diesel Fuel Supplier/Wholesalers, Restaurants That Sell Mixed Drinks, and Contractors

Any business claiming an exclusion must attach the supporting documentation required. Failure to provide required documentation may result in the denial of the exclusion. Expenses are not an allowable exclusion for most businesses. See "Requirements" sheet for accepted documentation.

	allowable exclusion for most businesses. See Requirements sheet for accepted documentation.	
1.	Gasoline/Diesel Fuel Supplier/Wholesalers enter 2024 State/Federal excise fuel tax collected on Motor Vehicle Fuels	
2.	Restaurants that sell mixed drinks enter 2024 mixed beverage sales (excluding beer and wine sales)	
3.	Contractors located in Prince William County may subtract 2024 gross receipts that exceed \$25,000 from work done in other Virginia jurisdictions that impose a similar business license tax, but only if the amount subtracted is reported to the other Virginia jurisdictions. YOU MUST PROVIDE A COPY OF YOUR COMPLETED BUSINESS LICENSE APPLICATION FROM THESE JURISDICTIONS OR THE ADJUSTMENT WILL BE DISALLOWED (Virginia Code 58.1-3715)	
4.	Add Lines 1 through 3. This is your total allowable adjustments. Enter here and on reverse side, Line 3	
	TABLE B – ADJUSTMENT TO 2024 LICENSE TAX Complete Only If Business Began After 1/1/2024 and Before 1/1/2025	
1.	Enter tax rate for business classification from Table C, Part A	
2.	Enter your 2023 taxable gross receipts amount from reverse side Line 4	
3.	Enter \$0 if the amount on Line 2 above is less than \$500,000.  - otherwise -  Divide Line 2 by \$100, and then multiply by the tax rate entered on Line 1	
4.	Enter the license tax paid when your 2023 Business License was issued	
5.	Subtract Line 4 from Line 3. If the result is less than \$0, enter the negative amount. This is the adjustment amount to the 2024 license tax. Enter here and on reverse side, Line 6	

## PART A: TAX RATE SCHEDULE FOR LICENSE TAX BASED ON TAXABLE GROSS RECEIPTS

	Tax Rate per \$100
Business Classification	Taxable Gross Receipts
Professional occupations (PR)	\$ 0.33
Retail merchants (RT)	\$ 0.17
Wholesale merchants (WS)	\$ 0.05
Prince William County-based contractors, builders & developers or out-of-state contractors, builders	
or developers (CO)	\$ 0.13
Contractors located in another Virginia jurisdiction which imposes a BPOL or similar tax (RC)	\$ 0.13
Financial service providers; including credit agencies, and investment, securities, or commodities dealers (FI)	\$ 0.33
Real estate service providers; including appraiser, broker, management or rental agent (RE)	\$ 0.33
Hotel, motel or lodging establishments (HO)	\$ 0.26
Direct sellers (DS)	\$ 0.17
Public Utility (PU)	\$ 0.29
Repair, personal or business services; or other services not elsewhere classified (OS)	\$ 0.21
PART B: TAX RATE SCHEDULE FOR FLAT RATE LICENSES	

Business Classification	Flat Rate Amount
Restaurants serving mixed drinks with a seating capacity of no more than 100 persons (A1)	\$ 200.00
Restaurants serving mixed drinks with a seating capacity of at least 101 but no more than 150 persons (A2)	\$ 350.00
Restaurants serving mixed drinks with a seating capacity of 151 persons or greater (A3)	\$ 500.00
Non-profit or private clubs serving mixed drinks (A4)	\$ 500.00
Peddlers and other persons selling perishable goods place to place or at a temporary location (PE)	\$ 500.00
Itinerant merchant or itinerant event sponsor (IT)	\$ 500.00