

Joint Environmental Taskforce Chinaka Barbour Kenny Boddye, Vice Chair Jennifer Boeder Karen Carney Lonnie Harris Lucas Hisghman Dr. Earnie Porta, Chair Paige Thacker Matthew Villareale Jessica Weimer Julius Williams Loree Williams

Building 51, Room 203 Independent Hill Complex 14800 Joplin Rd Manassas, VA 20108

<u>Present:</u> JET Appointees –Chinaka Barbour, Kenny Boddye, Jennifer Boeder, Karen Carney, Lucas Hisghman, Dr. Earnie Porta, Paige Thacker, Matt Villareale, Jessica Weimer, Julius Williams, Loree Williams

Meeting

Minutes

July 18, 2024

6:00 PM

Giulia Manno – Director Office of Sustainability, Salita Gray – Joint Environmental Taskforce

Absent: Loree Williams

Roll Call and Determination of Quorum: Quorum Present

Public Comment Time: None

<u>**Consent Agenda</u>**: Approved April 18, 2024 meeting minutes [VOTING RECORD: Motion K Boddye; Second K Carney-by acclamation; Nays- None]</u>

Old Business:

• G Manno provided an overview of expanding composting opportunities in the county. G Manno met with county and school staff to discuss. It was recommended that schools put out a bid to vendors to procure composting services that meet the school's hauling needs if the program expands to the east side of the county.

New Business:

• J Weimer suggested potential collaboration between county and schools on solar procurement.

Member Time: None

Departmental Reports:

- G Manno updated that the Board voted to initiate the Sustainability and Resilience Comprehensive Plan Amendment during the May 14th board meeting. This amendment will ensure that the Comp Plan actions in the CESMP, and Emergency Management priorities are in alignment. The Planning Office is in the process of creating a scope of work to bring on consultants to develop the amendment.
- J Weimer shared that Elizebeth Vaughn Elementary and Dale City Elementary earned their green schools ribbon.

Meeting Adjourned at 6:54 PM